This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.

Gilcrist, Rutherford named Master Teachers at ICC service awards

Gilcrist, Rutherford named Master Teachers at ICC service awards

Independence, Kansas, May 10, 2018 – Independence Community College (ICC) announced that Brett Gilcrist and Eric Rutherford have been named co-winners of the 2017/18 Master Teacher Award at its annual employee service awards luncheon on Friday afternoon at the college’s West Campus.

Gilcrist is a Psychology instructor at ICC who serves on numerous committees and coordinates the ICC Student of the Month awards, among his numerous responsibilities.

“I have not seen any other faculty or staff person more committed to the holistic improvement of ICC,” said fellow ICC instructor, Jared Wheeler. “Brett is a fantastic teacher in his subject field and has dedicated himself this semester to improving the manner in which his content connects with students through project-based learning and presentation nights.”

In addition to serving as the associate dean for fine arts, Eric Rutherford is a member of the President’s Cabinet and music instructor.

“Growing a program is not a quick or easy process, and where the program stands now is a testament to his hard work and dedication to the institution,” said music instructor Matt Carter. “Students who are enrolled in Eric's classes are constantly engaged and challenged to higher standards - both musically and personally.”

The college also recognized Jared Wheeler and Breeze Jones as the faculty and staff members of the year as nominated by students, respectively. Wheeler taught philosophy and religion courses, while Jones served as a Navigator (advisor/mentor) to 200 students.

Baseball coach, Beau Schultz was named the Spirit Award winner and Rebekah Peitz won the award for Master Staffer.

The ICC Maintenance Department won the Cornerstone award – the award given for outstanding group or department.

Three faculty members were commemorated for their service, as they retired with a combined 60 years of dedicated experience: Brian Foreman, biology professor (2005); Mark Harris, sociology professor (2004); and Janelle Null, art professor (1985).

While the ceremony brought a close to the Spring 2018 semester, the college begins the summer semester Monday, June 4.

Ten Years of service - Tammie Geldenhuys (left), Sue Manning (center), and Brian Southworth (right)

Spririt Award Winner - Beau Schultz

Student Nominated Staff Member of the Year - Breeze Jones (right)

Thirty Years of Service - Elaine Kimzey

Student Nominated Instructor of the Year - Jared Wheeler (right)

Fifteen Years of Service - Jody Coy

Cornerstone Award - ICC Maintenance Dept

Master Staffer - Rebekah Peitz

Retireess - Mark Harris and Janelle Null