Accreditation Information

Independence Community College received its first accreditation in 1957 from The Commission on Institutions of Higher Education of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.  The College is currently accredited through The Higher Learning Commission, a Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, as an Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP) participant.  ICC received admission to AQIP in 2003 after submitting its final Program to Evaluate and Advance Quality (PEAQ) Comprehensive Evaluation in 1998.  The institution's first Systems Portfolio was submitted for review to the Commission in 2007 with reaffirmation of accreditation in 2009.

The purpose of the AQIP Committee is to provide campus wide leadership in continuous quality improvement and accreditation activities. The committee shall provide recommendations for strategic planning efforts, both developmental and for implementation.  The committee shall be a resource to assist the campus in making data-driven changes.

-2010 Staff and Faculty Handbook

Independence Community College is a member of KAQIP, the Kansas Association of AQIP institutions. Representatives from two- and four-year colleges and universities meet twice per calendar year to collaborate for the purpose of continuous quality academic improvement at each member institution.

ICC submits three Action Projects per year to the Higher Learning Commission. More information pertaining to current and past projects is available through a search of the AQIP Action Project Directory. Use the "Institution" drop down box to select ICC, then click the button labeled "Find Projects." 


2012-2013 Projects:

Assessment for Quality Improvement in Non-Academic Processes

Self-Assessment for Quality Improvement Workbook

Culture and Infrastructure Improvement Campaign

Improving College-Level Written Communication Across the Curriculum

Six Trait Writing Rubric

2011-2012 Projects:

Assessment for Quality Improvement in Non-Academic Processes

Enhancing the Workplace

Improving Communication and Relations with Adjunct Faculty

Development of a Strategic Planning Process


AQIP Steering Committee:

Brenda Sanchez, Chair

Curtis Schmitz, Vice-Chair

Debbie Phelps, Secretary

Jim Correll, Peter Ellenstein, Eva Harkness, Beverly Harris, Marsha Hayes, Cindy Lopez, Nicole Percival, Brenda Sanchez, Alberta Smith and Teresa Vestal


You may find the statistics related to ICC by clicking here: or visiting the National Center for Education Statistics website. There you can compare schools from across the country. 


For more information about AQIP please contact Debbie Phelps at (620) 332-5419 or